Category: Episode

  • Mon, 2003-06-16

    On this date in 2003, a racial disturbance occurred in Benton Harbor, Michigan.

    Benton Harbor is a city of 12,000, of which 92% were...

  • Mon, 2003-06-23

    On this date in 2003, the U. S. Supreme Court upheld affirmative action.

    A divided Supreme Court reaffirmed colleges' right to give an...

  • Tue, 2003-07-08

    *On this date in 2003, President George W. Bush publicly said American slavery was one of history's greatest crimes.

    He spoke from...

  • Fri, 2003-07-25

    On this date in 2003, American President George W. Bush ordered an unspecified number of U.S. forces to be positioned off the coast of war-torn...

  • Tue, 2003-07-29

    On this date in 2003 in Los Angeles, a Superior Court judge declared a deadlocked jury in a police brutality case against a white former officer...

  • Sun, 2003-09-14

    *On this date in 2003 the eldest sister of tennis stars Venus and Serena Williams was killed in a Los Angeles suburb.

    31-year-old Yetunde...

  • Thu, 2003-09-25

    On this date in 2003, a Nigerian woman won an acquittal in court, avoiding death by stoning.

    Amina Lawal a Nigerian peasant sentenced...

  • Sat, 2003-09-27

    On this date in 2003, 116 Black African boys were rescued from a slave labor camp in Nigeria. Police rescued the boys, who were as young as 4...

  • Wed, 2003-10-01

    On this date in 2003, White conservative commentator Rush Limbaugh resigned from ESPN television over racial comments he directed at African-...

  • Thu, 2003-10-09

    On this date in 2003, protesters gathered outside an Urban Outfitters store in Philadelphia, PA., to protest a racist board game being sold at...

  • Fri, 2003-10-10

    On this date in 2003, a monument dedicated to three lynched Black men was unveiled in Duluth, MN.

    On a June night in 1920, Black circus...

  • Wed, 2003-10-15

    On this date in 2003, The Louis Armstrong House opened to the public for the first time as a historic house museum.

    The residence was the...

  • Mon, 2003-11-17

    On this date in 2003, a jury convicted John Allen Muhammad of capital murder. The verdict was handed down in Virginia Beach, Virginia.

    ...

  • Sun, 2003-11-30

    On this date in 2003, another black man died after being beaten by police in Cincinnati, Ohio.

    Nathanial Jones, 41, died at the hands six...

  • Wed, 2003-12-10

    On this date in 2003, A Florida appeals court threw out a African American boy's conviction for beating a 6-year-old playmate to death.

    ...

  • Wed, 2003-12-10

    On this date in 2003, the Liberian conflict continued. In Monrovia, peace keepers confronted gunmen on a rampage of burning, shooting and looting...

  • Mon, 2003-12-15

    On this date in 2003, Strom Thurmond's family acknowledged a California woman's claim that she was his illegitimate Black daughter.

    This...

  • Tue, 2003-12-23

    On this date in 2003, a Virginia jury in the Washington-area sniper case sentenced Lee Boyd Malvo (a young African American) to life in prison...

  • Tue, 2004-01-06

    On this date in 2004, the city of New York agreed to pay $3 million to the family of Amadou Diallo.
    He was an unarmed West African...

  • Mon, 2004-02-23

    *On this date in 2004, Fifty U.S. Marines were headed to Haiti to protect their American Embassy and diplomats.

    This occurred at Cap-...