Category: Episode

  • Fri, 1861-04-12

    On this date in 1861, the Civil War began. This war is also referred to as "The War Between the States", "The War of Rebellion", or "The War for...

  • Fri, 1861-05-31

    The American Civil War, waged from 1861 to 1865, is remembered on this date.

    Before and during the Civil War, the North and South...

  • Sat, 1861-06-01

    The first encounter of the Civil War happened on this date in 1861 at the Fairfax Court House in Arlington Mills, Virginia.

    The result...

  • Fri, 1861-08-30

    On this date in 1854, John C. Fremont, issued a proclamation freeing the slaves of Missouri rebels. Lincoln revoked his proclamation.

    A...

  • Wed, 1861-09-25

    On this date in 1861, The Union Navy admitted Blacks for military service for the first time, almost a year before the army opened its ranks....

  • Tue, 1861-11-26

    On this date in 1861, West Virginia began the Secessionist Convention that would result in its breaking away from the Confederate state of...

  • Fri, 1862-02-21

    *On this date in 1862, Nathaniel Gordon was hanged for slave trading. He is the only person in American history executed for slave-trading....

  • Wed, 1862-04-16

    On this date in 1862, the nations capitol ended slavery. President Lincoln signed an act abolishing slavery in the District of Columbia, an...

  • Mon, 1862-05-12

    On this date in 1862, Black slaves commandeered the Confederate ship “the Planter.”

    It had just gotten dark on that evening in 1862, and...

  • Tue, 1862-05-20

    On this date in 1862, Congress passed the Homestead Act.

    This legislation gave authorized unrestricted settlement on public lands to...

  • Wed, 1862-12-31

    *On This date in 1862 the first Watch Night Services were celebrated in Back communities in America.

    The Watch Night service can be traced...

  • Thu, 1863-01-01

    *On this date in 1863, President Abraham Lincoln signed the Emancipation Proclamation; ordering that all slaves in rebel territory be freed....

  • Tue, 1863-03-10

    *This date celebrates the creation of the all-Black Fifty-fourth Massachusetts Infantry in 1863.

    Robert Gould Shaw, twenty-six year old...

  • Fri, 1863-04-17

    On this date in 1863, a Black woman was forcibly removed from a horse-drawn streetcar in San Francisco.

    Charlotte L. Brown, the daughter...

  • Mon, 1863-07-13

    On this date in 1863, the New York Draft Riots occurred. This has been described as Four Days Of Terror centered on racism over the Civil War...

  • Sat, 1863-07-18

    On this date in 1863, the first Black soldier received America's Congressional Medal of Honor.

    Sergeant William H. Carney was the...

  • Mon, 1863-07-20

    On this date, the African American Registry discusses miscegantion.

    Shortly before Christmas in 1863 a 72-page pamphlet appeared for sale...

  • Wed, 1863-12-02

    *On this date in 1863, “Freedom,” the statue on top of the dome of the U. S. Capitol, was put in place permanently.

    The Man responsible...

  • Tue, 1864-04-12

    This date marks the anniversary of the Fort Pillow Massacre in 1864. The Fort Pillow Massacre occurred during the American Civil War.

    ...

  • Wed, 1864-06-15

    *On this date in 1864, Congress passed the enrollment Act that authorized equal pay for Black soldiers.

    During the Civil War, African-...