Category: Episode

  • Tue, 1874-12-01

    *On this date in 1874, the Order of the Eastern Star was created. This is the oldest sorority-based Black women’s organization in America....

  • Mon, 1875-05-17

    On this date in 1875, the first Kentucky Derby was run with a Black man as the winning jockey.

    He (Oliver Lewis) rode three-year-old...

  • Wed, 1875-09-01

    *On this date in 1875, White Democrats attacked Republicans at Yazoo City, Mississippi. The riot happened because of the pressure on White...

  • Tue, 1875-11-02

    *On this date in 1875, The Mississippi Plan went into effect. Their state government was trying to prevent Black political participation using...

  • Tue, 1875-11-16

    On this date in 1875, Ethiopia won the Battle of Gundet over Egypt. This conflict was carefully observed in Black America due to a growing black...

  • Wed, 1876-05-03

    *On this date in 1876, a race riot happened in Indianapolis, Indiana over voting rights.

    Long after the 15th Amendment to the...

  • Sat, 1876-07-08

    *On this date in 1876, the Hamburg, Massacre occurred. This was a race riot between community's Black militia and Whites from the surrounding...

  • Thu, 1877-10-04

    On this date in 1877, the Registry celebrates the town of Nicodemus, Kansas, a brief haven for many Blacks from the old confederacy long before...

  • Wed, 1877-12-26

    Jim Crow Laws are featured on this date. These were any of the laws that enforced racial segregation in the American South between the end of the...

  • Sat, 1879-01-11

    On this date in 1879 the Zulu-British War began.

    The Zulu kingdom, centered on the southeast coast of southern Africa between the...

  • Fri, 1879-02-28

    *On this date in 1879, an exodus from slavery after reconstruction began in earnest. More than 900 Black families from Mississippi reached St....

  • Wed, 1882-10-18

    This date's Registry looks at the origins of the Chanteys in 1882. A Chantey is a style of choral singing associated with black slave labor in...

  • Tue, 1883-03-20

    *On this date in 1883, an African American inventor patented the first shoe lasting machine.

    Jan Matzeliger from Dutch Guiana...

  • Wed, 1885-06-24

    On this date in 1885, Samuel David Ferguson was consecrated as bishop (Saint John the Baptist's Feast Day), at Grace Church, New York, becoming...

  • Sun, 1888-05-13

    On this date in 1888, Brazil abolished slavery.

    During the 19th century, Europe exported two dynasties across the Atlantic to America....

  • Tue, 1890-08-12

    *On this date in 1890, The Mississippi Constitutional Convention began systematic exclusion of Blacks from the politics of South.

    The...

  • Sat, 1892-02-13

    *On this date in 1892 the first African American performers appeared at Carnegie Hall.

    The World's Fair Colored Opera Company, with...

  • Wed, 1892-03-09

    *On this date in 1892, three Black businessmen were lynched in Memphis.

    Following this incident, Black journalist Ida Wells wrote an...

  • Wed, 1892-05-11

    On this date in 1892, an African American became the youngest rider ever to win the Kentucky Derby.

    Alonzo “Lonnie” Clayton, 15 years old...

  • Tue, 1892-06-07

    *On this date in 1892, a 30-year-old African American shoemaker named Homer Plessy was jailed for sitting in the "White" car of the East...