Search

If you are looking for a specific episode, event or place, the Keyword Link is for you. Just type in a word or phrase to begin your search.

Birthdays are one of the most important dates of the year for each of us. Matching yours with other people or events is fun and easy. The similarity with others is fascinating and sometimes they hold truths and indicators of our place in life. Begin your search by selecting the month and date search boxes.

Enter any keyword(s). ie. Names, events places

  • Wed, 1815-09-27

    The birth of Bethany Veney in 1815 is celebrated on this date. She was a Black woman author.

    Veney was born a slave in Luray Page County...

  • Sun, 1815-11-12

    *Elizabeth Cady Stanton was born on this date in 1815. She was a White American abolitionist and feminist.

    Elizabeth Cady Stanton, the...

  • Wed, 1815-12-06

    Jane Cannon Swisshelm was born in on this date in 1815. She was a White American educator, publisher, and abolitionist.

    She was born...

  • Sat, 1815-12-23

    On this date in 1815, Henry H. Garnet was born. He was a Black theologian and abolitionist.

    Born in Kent County, MD, he was the son of...

  • Tue, 1816-04-09

    On this date in 1816, representatives of five Methodist congregations assembled at the Bethel church in Philadelphia.

    Dissatisfied with...

  • Fri, 1816-04-19

    *The opening of Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in 1816 is celebrated on this date.

    The history of Emanuel African Methodist...

  • Tue, 1816-05-21

    The birth of Stephen Allen Benson in 1816 is celebrated on this date. He was Black businessman and politician.

    Born in Maryland, Benson...

  • Sun, 1816-08-04

    *Macon Bolling Allen was born on this date in 1816. He was a Black teacher, lawyer and judge.

    From Indiana, born Allen Macon Bolling,...

  • Mon, 1816-12-16

    William Cooper Nell, a Black lecturer, journalist, and historian was born on this date in 1816.

    He was born in Boston to William and...

  • Fri, 1817-02-14

    *Frederick Douglass was born on this date in 1817. He was a Black abolitionist, orator, and writer who escaped slavery and urged other Blacks to...

  • Mon, 1817-03-24

    *The birth of Charles Langston in 1817 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black slave, editor, abolitionist and teacher.

    From Louisa...

  • Sat, 1817-07-05

    John Jones’s birth in 1817 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black apprentice tailor, writer, and politician.

    Born a free man in...

  • Sun, 1817-07-13

    On this date, Elizabeth Taylor Greenfield was born in 1817. She was a Black singer whose exceptional voice made her a popular performer in Great...

  • Mon, 1817-08-25

    The birth of Alfred Francis Russell in 1817 is celebrated on this date. He was a Black missionary, businessman, and politician.

    He was...

  • Fri, 1817-10-17

    Rev. Samuel Ringgold Ward was born on this date in 1817. He was a Black abolitionist and minister.

    Born a slave on Maryland's Eastern...

  • Fri, 1817-11-07

    On this date we recall the birth of George Washington in 1817. He was a Black farmer, businessman and the founder of the town of Centralia,...

  • Fri, 1817-11-28

    Congo Square is celebrated on this date's Registry from 1817. It is the informal name for an open area in the southern corner of Louis Armstrong...

  • Thu, 1818-01-15

    On this date we remember the birth of Elizabeth Keckley in 1818. She was a Black domestic, author, and abolitionist.

    Born at the...

  • Tue, 1818-07-21

    *Charles L. Reason was born on this date in 1818. He was a Black mathematician, abolitionist and teacher.

    Charles Lewis Reason was from...

  • Thu, 1818-08-13

    *Lucy Stone was born on this date in 1818. She was a White American reformer, who was a pioneer in the abolitionist movement and women's rights...