The Frances McHie Nursing Scholarship

The History

After graduating from Minneapolis South High School in 1929, Frances McHie attempted to enroll in the nursing program of the University of Minnesota; she was denied admission because of her color. W. Gertrude Brown, a local activist, and Sylvanus A. Stockwell, a Minnesota state senator, helped her to petition the legislature to become the first black nursing student, she graduated in 1932 with a double major.

Upon her graduation in 1932, Frances became the first black woman to be employed by the Minneapolis General Hospital as a supervisor of the outpatient clinic. She was also one of the twelve nurses to break the color barrier at Herman Kiefer Hospital in Detroit, Michigan. Frances began her role in higher education as an Associate Professor and Assistant to the Director of the School of Nursing at Tuskegee Institute. She was also an assistant professor to the Director of the School of Nursing at Meharry Medical College, as well as the director of nursing service for their Hubbard Hospital.

The Frances McHie Scholarship seeks to award small financial grants to individual students at the University of Minnesota School of Nursing who are interested in becoming nurses or seeking to advance their nursing education. African American nursing students, non-white students and first-generation college students are strongly encouraged to apply. Addressing racism in the healthcare field was a lifelong pursuit of Frances McHie. This scholarship is intended to continue her legacy.

Congratulations to our 2019 (first) Six University of Minnesota School of Nursing Frances McHie Scholars:

  • Fahima Adan
  • Moyinoluwa Ajibade
  • Hiba Minhas
  • Ann Pham
  • Oscar Sanchez Amezcua
  • Marie-Ester Tossa

For 2020 and beyond, consider submitting a tax deductible donation to the University of Minnesota’s Frances McHie Scholarship HERE

Many Thanks to the Donors below who have contributed to this scholarship and the diverse future of healthcare:

Eric Esckola
Michele Fisher
Martha Lewis-Hunstiger
Susan Forstrom
Molly Goodyear
Hennepin Healthcare
Alexander Hines and Maria McLemore
Amy Hoelscherm
Huberty Performance Learning LLC
Marjorie Huebner
Jill Kane
Mary Koloroutis
Susan Lampe
Marie Manthey
Benjamin McHie
Leanne Meier
Teddie Potter
Beverly Propes
Yvonne RB-Banks
Joe Selvaggio
Elizabeth Sharpe
Tammy Sinkfield Fleming
Annette Smith
Tangri Marjeet
Terrence Troy
Elizabeth Tisel
Eric and Lois Hyde
Michael McHie
Angelina Caprella
Patricia Gessner 
Sharon Ridgeway
Zoe Marquis-Kelly
Susan Forstrom
William Tilton
Marilyn Bach
Nargaret Artz